Low Carb Cheesy Taco Shells

Low Carb Taco Shells

Hi friends! I can not believe it has been over a week since I last shared a recipe with all of you. These past two weeks have been so crazy for me. I decided to start a low-carb diet as I showed you in my Peanut Butter Protein Balls. I was looking to not only get more in shape by doing Insanity, but also start a healthier lifestyle with my eating habits. I thought trying a low-carb diet would be a good way to start eating more protein and more real meals instead of just a half a box of Cheez-its for dinner. However, this really didn’t seem to work for me in the long-run. I started getting headaches from the lack of carbs, I didn’t feel like myself, and just overall felt angry. After doing a little more research on low-carb diets, I see that all of these reactions and emotions are totally normal from the lack of carbohydrates in your system. After a few talks with my friends and boyfriend, I decided this wasn’t really the best plan for me. I went on a little binge including Rita’s and Bottomless Chips and Salsa at Chili’s πŸ™‚ For the future I really do hope to just maintain healthy eating habits with small meals throughout the day, hopefully eliminating my urge to binge or to eat an entire bag of pretzels in one sitting. Again, sorry for not blogging over the past week, I just really didn’t have the energy to even finish this post or make any other recipes these past two weeks. Don’t worry though, this happy girl you see below is back!

100_2293xNow onto my newest creation: Taco Shells made from Cheese!! Yes, that is a thing. Instead of eating those hard shells in the box or even using carb-filled tortillas, you can make them from your favorite cheese. Now I knew this was totally possible, but it took a first try to realize all you need is your microwave. I repeat, doΒ not use your stove top to melt your cheese. The disaster below is what happened πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

IMG_2920xAll you need is some parchment paper, your microwave, andΒ cheese! Take a few minutes to try these next time you celebrate taco night in your house! If you’re anything like me, this is literally once a week. Oh how I love every kind of Mexican food πŸ™‚

Ingredients (For only the Cheesy Taco Shells)

Provolone Cheese: 2 slices per shell

*For the rest of the tacos shown:

Chicken Breast: 3 breasts shredded

Taco Seasoning: 1 packet

Shredded Lettuce: 1/4 cup

Mexican Shredded Cheese: 1/4 cup

Salsa: 2 tablespoons

IMG_2923xYes, you read that right, all you need for these low carb taco shells is cheese! I used provolone cheese because it has a perfect circular shape. You could really use any kind of cheese you like, but a cheese in a circular shape would be best to keep that classic taco look. Now take a sheet of parchment paper and add two slices of provolone cheese. Using two slices instead of just one makes them a little bigger and easier to eat. Overlap the cheese slices a little so they melt together.

IMG_2927xAdd into the microwave on high for 1 minute and 10 seconds. This may vary for your microwave. I first checked the cheese after 50 seconds and saw it still needed a little longer. You want the middle of your cheese where you overlapped it to be melted and not still solid. The edges will start to crisp up and turn brown, but don’t worry! This will make for an even crispier taco shell πŸ™‚

IMG_2929Once the cheese is removed from the microwave you want to immediately hold the sides of your parchment paper up in the air. As your cheese cools, it will form into whatever shape you hold it into.

IMG_2931

IMG_2933Carefully keep this shape until you can remove your hands and your new Cheesy Taco Shell stands up on its own! Now how simple is that? You have your own low-carb, but super yummy Cheesy Taco Shell!

IMG_2924x

IMG_2934

IMG_2935Now my friends and I made delicious l0w-carb tacos all together by using shredded chicken breast with taco seasoning, shredded cheese, lettuce, and salsa. After you make these little homemade taco shells, literally the options are endless. You can go low-carb or you can splurge and just put whatever you want in these.

IMG_2946x

IMG_2940x

IMG_2937xI am so excited for you all to try these! They were the perfect crunch, but added even more cheese to our tacos, which I won’t complain about πŸ™‚ As my last two weeks of college creep up on me, don’t worry I still will be posting my new favorite recipes! No more hiatus for me; I am so inspired by all of you that I have met over the past few months of blogging and always am soΒ appreciativeΒ of your support. Thank you to every single one of you that have followed me over these past 60 posts or those just finding out what my blog is all about!

IMG_2942x

IMG_2939x

IMG_2938x

IMG_2943x

51 thoughts on “Low Carb Cheesy Taco Shells

  1. Yum! I might have to include that in my next week’s menu! I had no idea you could do this. I had tried the cheese crisps from Linda’s low carb and liked those but had not thought of making taco shells out of cheese…clever!

  2. I’ve made Parmesan Crisps on Silpat in the oven before. I wonder if they would work as well? They are a bit lacy, though, so it might all wind up in a bowl before you’ve finished! lol Great idea though.

  3. Chris how inventive is this!! I am making this for my wife and I. She is Mexican and they love cheese. Going to surprise her with this.

    I found your blog again as you left a comment at Cupcakepedia.

    Miss Chris you followed me at my former blog Savor the food. But we have a new web site and new blog Fun with Food. I always appreciated your comments and visits. I would like to invite you too check it out and leave your info in the subscribe box and follow us there as well ( Fun with Food http://www.savorthefood.com/blog ).

    As I said I am glad I found your blog again. You have always make great food creations. πŸ™‚

    Chef Randall
    http://www.svorthefood.com

  4. The best part about this is you don’t have to use all that oil to fry up taco shells. Who needs all that when you can consume more cheese instead? πŸ˜‰

  5. So if low carbs are not your thing, maybe give “slow carbs” some consideration…. The idea of flow carbs is foods that take longer for your body to process. Think quinoa, lentils, oats etc….(and avoid white flour). I have discovered the most amazing recipes whilst hunting for new healthy dishes!!

  6. Pingback: Drop 10 Tuesday Menu/ Shop List | homemakerforallseasons

  7. Pingback: Layered Taco Dip | Miss Chris Creations

  8. Did anyone mention that headaches and fatigue in the first few days of a low carb plan is generally caused by low sodium levels? Everyone knows that you lose a lot of retained water when you eliminate carbs, but they don’t usually realize that they also lose a lot of electrolytes with the water. Next time you try low carb, have broth once a day for the first week and you’ll feel much better.

  9. Pingback: Low Carb Tacos | (healthy) Vittles and Bits

Leave a comment