Red Velvet Oreo Truffle Bars

Red Velvet Oreo Truffle Bars

With Valentine’s Day around the corner and my little THON Finance Captains begging me to bake for them, I couldn’t help but make these triple layered bars! I mean, if I wasn’t already a red velvet fan, (hence my Red Velvet Truffles), the Oreo truffle layer just put me over the edge. By no means are these on my regular diet, but I did eat my fair share of batter and one after they were finished! And to make things a little better for us, I substituted some of the typical butter ingredient for applesauce! Cutting the calories where I can, but keeping all that delicious taste. Make these for your family, friends, or that special someone for that little holiday coming up! That way you can eat one and then give the rest away!

 

Ingredients

Red Velvet Cake Mix: 1

Butter: ½ cup

Applesauce: ½ cup

Egg: 1

Vanilla: ½ tablespoon

Water: ½ cup

Oreos: 1 package

Cream Cheese: 8 ounces

Chocolate Chips: 1 bag (miniature or regular sized)IMG_1657x

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees. Combine your first six ingredients in a large mixing bowl. You can melt your butter ahead of time and mix thoroughly with your electric mixer for a few minutes (2-3). If you don’t have a hand mixer with you (crossing my fingers for one from the boyfriend for valentine’s day!) you can definitely just mix this by hand for a good 5 minutes. Make sure to get all cake mix chunks out.

Once mixed, pour into your lightly greased brownie pan.IMG_1659x Spread evenly and bake in the oven for 20-22 minutes or until your toothpick comes out clean!

While your red velvet brownies are baking, take your package of Oreos and crush in a plastic bag, between some parchment paper, or in a bowl. You can also just crush them like we did in the Chocolate Peanut Butter Bowl Recipe.IMG_1661x

IMG_1663x

Melt your cream cheese in the microwave for 15-30 seconds and stir these with your crushed cookies until blended evenly.

You want a nice Oreo truffle mixture that you can spread over your cooled brownies. Once your brownies are finished in the oven, make sure to let these cool (I didn’t have a lot of patience, so I threw them in the freezer to cool).IMG_1664x Carefully press your Oreo truffle mixture on top of the red velvet brownies. Be very careful not to just spread the mixture over the brownies or you may tear the top of your pretty brownies!IMG_1665x Once you have a layer of Oreo truffle evenly, melt your chocolate chips. This will take about 1 minute in the microwave, stir, and put back in for another 15 seconds. Pour the mixture over your brownies and spread evenly. Sprinkle with any extra chocolate chips you have or sprinkles!IMG_1669x

IMG_1667x

Let cool in the refrigerator, or like me the freezer again, before cutting into your brownie bars. Since I used applesauce instead of a full cup of butter the red velvet brownies came out a little cake-ier, but the less guilt was worth it! If you would rather have a little more solid brownie on the bottom without any crumbs, feel free to use two sticks of butter instead of 1 stick and 1/2 cup of applesauce; your call!IMG_1678x

IMG_1676xI put my brownie bars into cupcake holders to make handing them out much easier and save some mess.

IMG_1679x

These are perfect for a little heart candy tin or just to give to your friends to cheer them up next week. Every layer adds a little something special and my stomach is quite pleased with my decision to make these today. Enjoy friends!

IMG_1672

IMG_1680

Update: my committee literally LOVED these! Guess they were a pretty good Pre-Valentine’s Day dessert after all ❤

44 thoughts on “Red Velvet Oreo Truffle Bars

  1. oh my crap……….when i saw the first picture of this post, i think my eyes almost popped out of their sockets. CRAP, i HAVE to make this for work! the girls are gonna hate me, i’m already making them fat!…….but it looks SOOOOOOOO good!

  2. These are GORGEOUS! I wish I had your skill for food photography. I have noticed in my old age that I can taste the bitterness of red food coloring though, and the ace bakers at Sweet Lady Jane (the BEST cake on earth — or at least in LA) told me in confidence (oops!) that they use beet sugar instead of dye in their red velvet cake. I haven’t tried it yet but I’m going to. Thanks for sharing this fun recipe and thanks for perusing my blog!

    • Thank you!! I would recommend trying another cake instead of the red velvet cake as your base. You would still be able to make these into a brownie form and then add the remaining layers. Let me know if you ever try the red velvet cake with the beet sugar, very interesting!!

  3. Ah, a woman after my own heart….! Yes, the richer, gooey and deeper the chocolate experience, the better! Thanks for liking my chocolate blog! And yes, I have had to “torture” my friends and colleagues with gifts of chocolate as I put together my little chocolate book or else I would DEFINITELY weigh about 200 pounds by now! But the chocolate does call my name…. hee hee!

  4. Pingback: Cookies and Cream Cupcakes | Miss Chris Creations

  5. Thank you so much for posting this recipe! I just made these yesterday and posted an entry on my blog as well! I made the brownies from scratch to experiment, and the combination of all these flavors is wonderful. 🙂

  6. Can I just die?! Lol! I’ll be bookmarking this and one day, I promise I will try this. I think it’s okay to die for just one day. And I’ll be pushing myself to eat salad for a week or two after this yummy treat, haha!

  7. Pingback: Summer Blog Party ~ Week Nine | Atlantamomofthree

Leave a Reply

