Nutty Nutella Chex Mix

Nutty Nutella Puppy Chow

Need a sweet and salty snack? This is exactly what you get when you mix melted chocolate, Nutella, and honey roasted peanuts! I know what you’re thinking: Christine, this doesn’t sound like it’s part of your healthy eating diet. Yes, this may be my weekend weakness. I went on a retreat with some of my friends this weekend and I decided to make something I always crave: Puppy Chow or Chex Mix. Now I know there are some of you Nutella addicts out there who agree with this next image.

il_fullxfull-382128573_rhsr

Traditionally you will find people make Chex Mix or Puppy Chow with Peanut Butter. But this time I used a jar of Nutella!! 🙂 I think actually like version is better to be honest and hope you guys will too! You may remember back a few months ago I shared a recipe for my Funfetti Chex Mix. If you liked this or have a Nutella obsession, I have a feeling you should give this new version a try!

Ingredients

Chex Mix: 1 12 0z box

Nutella: 1 cup

Butter: 1/2 cup (1 stick)

Chocolate Chips:  1 1/2 cup

Nuts: 1 cup

Powdered Sugar: 2-3 cups

IMG_2802x

First, take out a medium sized microwave safe bowl and add your chocolate chips. Cut your stick of butter into a few smaller chunks and add to the bowl. This will just help to melt the butter better. Place your bowl into the microwave and melt your ingredients in 30-second intervals stirring in between.

IMG_2804x

While your ingredients are melting, pour your Chex cereal into a large bowl. When your butter and chocolate have melted, add your cup of Nutella to the melted mixture and mix thoroughly.

IMG_2805x

Before you can pour this melted mixture over your cereal, I decided to also add some yummy Honey Roasted Nuts to my bowl of cereal!. You could add any other ingredients you think will go well with your mix, including other nuts or raisins.
IMG_2806x

Pour your mixture evenly over your cereal and nut mixture and begin folding it in. You want to get the mixture as evenly coated as possible. This may take a little bit of time, but try to still move quickly so your chocolate doesn’t harden. Once mixed, take a large ziplock bag, pour your coated mixture into the bag and now add your powdered sugar to the bag. Seal the bag and start shaking! You want your entire Nutty Nutella Chex Mix to be covered with powdered sugar. Make sure to break any large clumps that may start forming. Once it is evenly coated with powdered sugar you can pour it onto a cookie sheet. Let cool and then the snacking can begin!IMG_2809x

IMG_2816x

This party snack will be perfect for your friends or your family to munch on. The sweet chocolate is perfect paired with the Nutella and saltiness of the nuts! I promise it will not last long, so even though an entire box of Chex looks like a lot, I doubt you will have a lot of leftovers if any! I hope this satisfies your Nutella cravings and you will have the chance to try this simple recipe too! IMG_2807x

IMG_2812x

IMG_2815x

I sat this tray down on the kitchen table once we got to our retreat location and by mid-afternoon the entire tray was empty! If you want some for yourself, make sure you keep some at home before sharing 🙂 No oven, no stove, just a microwave and you’re well on your way to eating some Nutty Nutella Chex Mix!

IMG_2811x

IMG_2808x

IMG_2813x

IMG_2810x

22 thoughts on “Nutty Nutella Chex Mix

  1. Oh my. I am in heaven. When I got married last year, my hubs discovered Nutella and then proceeded to eat it every morning for breakfast. I gave him such a hard time. And then I started doing it! The stuff is like crack. Thanks for sharing this gem of a treat.

  2. OMG. This must be an American thing because I have never seen such a recipe! I love Nutella but not sure if we get anything like Chex in Australia. I will check next time at the supermarket. You have some great recipes. Thanks for checking out tomatotales.com.au – great to hear you liked it.

Leave a Reply

