Chicken Parmesan with Zucchini Noodles

Chicken Parmesan with Zucchini Noodles

With Easter right around the corner, I can’t stop thinking about jellybeans, Reese’s Peanut Butter Eggs, and Marshmallow Peepers. I’m crossing my fingers for one (or all) in my Easter basket Sunday morning! Oh how I love my sweets. Fun Fact: I did a senior project in high school on the company, Just Born. In case you didn’t know, this is the company that produces all those fun, colorful Peeps! Enough with my candy obsession; to keep these cravings under control, I’m attempting to make more meals, which will hopefully decrease my snacking or snacking thoughts! Regardless, how precious are these little dogs?

IMG_2633xI absolutely love pasta don’t get me wrong, but like I mentioned a few days ago, portion control is key. I made a salmon pasta earlier this week and added just a little penne pasta which was perfect. However, eating an entire Chicken Parmesan with a ton of cheese and tons of spaghetti just wasn’t in my diet. I decided to pull from my Parmesan Zucchini Pasta and add a few new ingredients. With this baked chicken and some zucchini noodles, you can still get the taste you’re craving, but the calories you can be happy about!

Ingredients

Boneless Chicken: 1 breast

Zucchini: 1 medium

Summer Squash: 1 medium

Grape Tomatoes: 5 cut in half or however many you want

Marinara: 1/4 cup

Oregano

Italian Seasonings

IMG_2614x

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Take your boneless chicken breast and add your oregano, italian, and any other spices you like on top. Press down onto your chicken and place on a lightly oiled oven-safe dish. IMG_2616x

Once your oven is heated up, place your dish in the oven and get ready to make your zucchini noodles!

IMG_2617x

Get a peeler and peel the outside skin of your zucchini and summer squash first. You can then use your peeler or a julienne, which I still have yet to get. Use your peeler to make thin pasta strips until you hit the middle seeds of your vegetables. I don’t use this, but again, you could peel the entire vegetable if you don’t mind the seedy part.
IMG_2618x

Once you have your zucchini noodles, make sure to sprinkle them with salt and let them set for 5 minutes to get all the excess moisture out. If you want to soak them longer I would recommend waiting to put your chicken in a little longer. After 5 minutes I used paper towels to remove the moisture and then it was time to make the pasta! Heat a skillet on the stove on medium-low heat and add your marinara sauce. Add your zucchini noodles, more oregano and spices, and let cook for 3 minutes. You can add your sliced tomatoes as well and let cook together for another 2 minutes. That’s all it takes! When your chicken is cooked thoroughly, remove from the oven, add a little mozzarella cheese and let it melt in the oven for another 2 minutes. While this is cooking you can add your pasta to a dish, sprinkle with Parmesan cheese and then place your chicken on top once the cheese has melted.  IMG_2625x

IMG_2622x

How yummy does this dish look right about now? Kinda wishing I had any leftovers! I actually made enough to have an extra chicken breast for lunch today, but no more pasta! I gobbled it right up let me tell you! The little bit of marinara sauce is perfect, but doesn’t make the this Chicken Parmesan too thick or rich. The baked chicken is a nice twist to the classic dish and removed the extra bread crumb calories. IMG_2620x

IMG_2621xNow I know not all of your family may be keen on letting go of their carbs yet, but why not give this dish a try for yourself sometime? It’s definitely going to be something new, you’ll still be full, but it’s completely guilt-free! Do any of you have a favorite Italian dish that you added a low-carb or reduced-calorie twist to?

IMG_2623x

IMG_2626x

18 thoughts on “Chicken Parmesan with Zucchini Noodles

  1. Pingback: Skinny Chocolate Oat-Chip Cookies | Miss Chris Creations

Leave a Reply

