Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

Last weekend I went to surprise one of my closest friends for a housewarming party! Now, who can go to a housewarming party without a gift? In my case, without some sort of food These cookies and cream treats look so fabulous on the outside, your friends will be even more surprised when they see what’s inside!

IMG_3603  IMG_3602

Now there was one little problem. I was trying to be a housewife in training and decided to make my cupcakes from scratch. Yes, I actually didn’t ask my friend Betty Crocker for help this time. Unfortunately there was a slight issue when I decided to grab every baking item out of my cabinet. I grabbed both baking powder and soda. Which one did I use you ask; baking soda. I didn’t think anything of it until after the cupcakes were cooked, iced, and ready for the taste test. I made my brother try the first one and he replied with “that was the best muffin I’ve ever had”.

..Muffin? Yes, the swap of baking ingredients made for a much denser treat. Instead of tasting airy like your typical box-made cupcakes, it was a little denser is the only way I can explain it. Did I love it? Of course. Did my brother love it? Enough that once all of extras were eaten throughout the week he asked me to make more 🙂 I was so worried my friend wouldn’t like them and when I explained it to them they nicknamed them “muffcakes“. The perfect balance of a muffin and a cupcake. I’ve never had a cookies and cream iced muffin, but hey, if it tastes good, it tastes good. In the ingredients I switched the two, so please let me know if yours come out a little less like a muffcake 🙂

Ingredients

Flour: 2 cups

Sugar: 1 2/3 cup

Butter: 1 1/2 sticks

Oreo Cookies: 24 cookies halved, 12 quartered

Eggs: 3

Baking Powder: 1 teaspoon

Vanilla: 1 teaspoon

IMG_3530x

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. First, add your flour and baking powder in a bowl. Then cream your butter and sugar in a separate bowl. After your butter and sugar are creamed together add your eggs one by one. Add your vanilla. When all of your wet ingredients are mixed, you can add your dry ingredients. Last but not least, add some crushed up Oreo’s (quartered). You want to make sure you fold in these cookies in your batter.

IMG_3536x

After your batter is ready, place your cupcake liners in your tray. Then line your cupcake liners with half of an Oreo cookie (with the icing still attached)! These cookies will be the perfect surprise for your taste testers and they add such a fun little addition to your cupcakes.

IMG_3531x

IMG_3532x

On top of your Oreo cookie add the cupcake batter. Fill about 2/3 of the way. I ended up filling mine up a little too much, but hey, the more cupcake the better right?

IMG_3538x

IMG_3540x

Bake in the oven for 18 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Let these cupcakes cool on a cooling rack before you add your icing! How cute to these look already? The little bits of cookies popping out make them look so festive 🙂

IMG_3544x

Once your cupcakes are cooled, add your favorite icing on top. I ended up using some of my mom’s icing she already had made in the refrigerator because I was traveling. In the ingredients photo you will see I had confectioners sugar, cream cheese, and heavy whipping cream. I had planned to use a cream cheese frosting and wasn’t even thinking about my metro ride into DC and the lack of refrigerator. So use whatever icing you have! Once you have these treats made, it won’t really matter if you want a vanilla or chocolate frosting, anything you know you or your friends will love. I mean, if you’re like me, anything sweet will work.

IMG_3547x

IMG_3550x

Now to decorate your cupcakes even further, take the other half of your Oreo cookie that you didn’t use in the bottom of your cupcake and place it on top. I ended up only using half or pieces of the cookie so the decorations weren’t too huge! Use your discretion with what you want on top. Then use some crushed up Oreo’s to garnish as you please.

IMG_3561x

IMG_3551x

Now whether you think these taste like a muffin, cupcake, or a muffcake, they will definitely be a hit. They are probably the cutest cupcakes I have made to date and besides the small little swap in baking products, I was really proud I wasn’t lazy and made these from hand. (The boxed cupcake mixes are always calling my name.) If you loved these and are like, hm Christine I really wish you have some other recipes I could make to use of these extra Oreo’s, you’re in luck. Check out a few other of my favorite Oreo recipes below.

Red Velvet Oreo Truffle Bars: A layered bar with an Oreo truffle layer. Yum!

Cookies, Oreo’s, Brownies, Oh My: You’ve seen these on Pinterest and other sites and now these triple packed desserts can be yours!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Bowl: Layer all your ingredients in one bowl and serve. How simple?

IMG_3554x

IMG_3601

32 thoughts on “Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

  1. These look amazing Christine!!! I love the hidden half-Oreo in the bottom of the cupcake liner. Such a great idea… and that layer of icing would be such a delicious sweet surprise 🙂 I’m sure everyone must’ve loved them at the housewarming party! In regards to the lack of refrigeration… argh, that’s something that always bothers me when I’m transporting baked goods. It’s such a hot climate here in Australia. I’ve had quite a few icing-topped cakes melt on me (such devastation! I hate it!). Glad you had some pre-made icing in the fridge 😉 xx

    • Thank you for such a sweet comment! Even with the little mix of with the icing, they still came out really good and I think I will be making them again soon! Definitely dodged a bullet with having that extra icing though 🙂

  2. Holy Cookies & Cream MuffCakes and Cake Batter Cookies – I’m going to busy tonight! Going to try and make use of all of the rainy Florida weather we’re under to bust out a batch of these. Of course, like you, I’ll need to give as many of them away before I put on my food tester hat. Good stuff, thank you for sharing!

  3. They look lovely. I kind of fear baking soda and try not to use it much because of baking soda-ey carrot cakes. I agree with you, anything sweet will do!

  4. Oh my! These look fantastic! And I love the nickname “muffcakes.” I feel like that should be a thing. Imagine the limitless possibilities of muffcakes.

  5. Pingback: Beach Bear Cupcakes | Miss Chris Creations

Leave a Reply

