Skinny Chocolate Oat-Chip Cookies

Skinny Chocolate Oat-Chip Cookies

I am officially a big girl! I put on my big girl pants, graduated from childhood, and started my first real-world job on Monday. You’re looking at the newest PricewaterhouseCoopers Associate! With moving to a new city, with a new apartment, and traffic I still can’t quite figure out, there are a lot of things changing. What I have tried to keep constant is my dedication to working out with T25, eating relatively healthy, and motivating others to do the same. I hope you all will continue following me on my journey and my new recipes that are reflecting this lifestyle change. Hey, I know what you’re thinking, don’t worry, Christine will still be posting her favorite recipes that aren’t so low-cal. Let’s just get more of a variety and see how it goes!

1231661_10152229146749126_1586180578_n

Here we are with another zucchini recipe, what do you know! My new thing is trying to incorporate zucchini in my desserts. A little added moisture and less butter sounds good to me, what about you? Try out these Chocolate Oat-Chip Cookies with a little secret ingredient. They definitely are in the category of good to taste and for the waist.

Ingredients

Cocoa Powder: 1/4 cup

Oatmeal: 1/2 cup

Flour: 3/4 cup

Sugar: 1/2 cup

Butter: 2 tablespoons

Cinnamon: 1/2 teaspoon

Chocolate Chips:  3/4 cup

Vanilla Extract: 1/2 teaspoon

Egg: 1 egg

Yogurt: 1/2 cup

Baking Soda: 1/4 teaspoon

Zucchini: 3/4 cup shredded

IMG_5229

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and then let’s get to mixing! I first creamed my sugar and butter together and then slowly add your yogurt, vanilla extract, and egg. The yogurt helps to keep this batter light and cuts some calories you would normally be adding in extra butter. Mix your wet ingredients with all of the dry, keeping the chocolate chips and zucchini aside. After you have a nice batter you can fold in your mini chocolate chips and our secret ingredient: zucchini!! All of these ingredients will cover up your zucchini and with the extra texture of the oatmeal, you will never know that you added it!

IMG_5231

 

Take your cookie batter and form into tablespoon cookie balls. Add to your cookie sheet, sprayed of course. The batter should be nice and moist, but if you ever find your zucchini held too much water you can add some more oatmeal to balance this moisture. Remember to let your zucchini set with some sprinkled salt before using it in your baking recipes. You may already know this, but if not, go check out my Parmesan Zucchini Pasta.

IMG_5233

Bake in the oven for 10-12 minutes or until they begin to hold their shape. They won’t turn a nice golden brown because they are a moist cookie. You will want to place them on a cooling rack or just let them cool on the cookie sheet before eating them. I mean, I grabbed one before they cooled down completely, but they are a little delicate when warm, so be careful!

IMG_5236 IMG_5239

IMG_5247 IMG_5251

 

You want to keep these cookies in an air tight container in the refrigerator for 2-3 days. These cookies, as you saw from the ingredient list, are from all natural ingredients, nothing weird, nothing you have never heard of. For this reason, just like our Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes, should be eaten in a few days. They don’t have those weird preservatives that can give them a huge shelf life. I ended up making about 20 cookies, ranging in a few sizes. You could definitely make 24 small cookies, or a range of sizes.

IMG_5256 IMG_5244

IMG_5253 IMG_5254

 

I am absolutely in love with these zucchini dessert recipes if you can’t tell. I feel so much better putting natural ingredients in my body and not using mixes if I can. When you have the time, I truly recommend giving some homemade recipes a try. You really can’t beat it. No they don’t taste like the Nestle pre-made square cookies, but that’s the entire point!! You want to know what you’re putting in your body, for fitness reasons, for nutritional reasons, for overall health reasons; spend a little extra time and your body will thank you!

IMG_5261 IMG_5259

IMG_5257 IMG_5262

 

With that being said, look at these photos. You can’t tell me these don’t look scrumptious. Although there is zucchini in them, you would never know from the overall presentation. Don’t knock it until you try it. I have more sweet teeth in this mouth than most of you reading this, so if I like to eat these, I know they can be a hit for you too!

IMG_5241 IMG_5245

IMG_5263 IMG_5259

Want more zucchini recipes?

Chicken Parmesan with Zucchini Noodles

Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes

Baked Zucchini Fries

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Skinny Chocolate Oat-Chip Cookies

  1. Pingback: Zucchini Crust Pizza | Miss Chris Creations

  2. Pingback: Zucchini Brownies with Chocolate Yogurt Frosting | Miss Chris Creations

Leave a Reply

