Layered Taco Dip

Layered Taco Dip

Picnics, apartment hunting, and well, you guessed it, more studying has been the story of my summer. How fun? In the midst of all of my CPA studying I have come up with just a few creations of my own, but I know I have been lacking with my posts and time to share all my new recipes with you all. Maybe adding a little crafty creation in this post will help? For one of those picnics I mentioned above, my boyfriends neice was turning 1! We tossed around what we should get for her birthday and landed on diapers. Creative are we? Maybe not on the actual gift she got, but the presentation I was sure I could nail. I thought I had seen something like this on Pinterest before and what do you know, they are everywhere! We bought over 100 diapers and the construction began. The abridged version on how I decided to make this is:

1. Cut the number of tiers you want out of cardboard in increasing circle sizes

2. Fold each diaper in half and form a circle on your tier. Tie the tier with a string to hold them in the circle shape and fill the middle with more diapers. Repeat for each tier.

3. Place each tier on top of one another.

4. Add two little baby food jars in the top tier, add a bow, and some ribbon to cover up that string.

IMG_4090 (2)

Now I must say, this came out pretty darn cute. And what also came out pretty darn cute but I actually got to enjoy at the birthday party was this Layered Taco Dip! No baking is required, just buy your ingredients, layer them in your dish, and bring some chips along to the party! You may not be a whiz in the kitchen, but trust me, give this dip a try next time you are asked to bring something to a picnic, party, or potluck!

Ingredients

Refried Beans: 2 cans

Taco Seasoning: 1 packet

Sour Cream: 1 1/2 cups

Salsa: 1 jar

Lettuce: 1 1/2 cups; chopped or shredded

Shredded Cheese: 2 cups; mexican, five cheese, cheddar, whatever you like!

IMG_4068 (2)

Typically I would say you should preheat your oven here, but don’t worry, all you need is five minutes and no oven to make this fantastic dish! Take out a casserole dish to begin your layering. A glass dish is preferred to be able to see your pretty layers, but like you see in my photos, any ol dish will work. The first layer of your dip will be your taco refried beans. Start by mixing two cans of refried beans with one packet of taco seasoning in a separate bowl. Once mixed, add the taco refried beans to the bottom of your dish.

IMG_4071 (2)

I’ll go through layer by layer so you can see the progression we make for our Layered Taco Dip. The second layer we will be adding is the sour cream. When you’re adding your layers you can tell if you have enough by making sure you completely cover the layer that was before it. In this case, add enough sour cream to cover up the taco refried beans.

IMG_4072 (2)

The third layer of our simple little taco dip is the salsa! Now this seemed like a much easier and dip-like than diced tomatoes, but if you have some laying around, you can mix them in as well. I would recommend spooning out the salsa instead of just dumping the jar; much much easier to smooth around and make sure you don’t just dump a lot of juice in one area.

IMG_4075 (2)

The fourth layer requires a little more than just opening a jar, but still, you can do this very fast! Feel free to buy shredded less if you don’t want any hassle at all, but I chopped up some lettuce on my own and began adding it on top of the salsa layer. Now I know what you’re going to say: “Christine we can still see the salsa layer”. Don’t worry, add about 1 1/2 to 2 cups of lettuce and you’ll be fine 🙂

IMG_4078 (2)

Now comes the last and my favorite part of this dip, the CHEESE obviously. I used two different kinds of shredded cheese to top of my Layered Taco Dip, Mexican and Cheddar. You can use your favorite shredded cheese and add a lot of it. I mean who doesn’t like cheese?

IMG_4083 (2)

Yummy yummy! Now seriously all you’re missing is your scoops and you can dig in! Make this in advance and pop it in the fridge to get it nice and cold before serving. If you don’t have that kind of time, believe me, your guests will still be scopping this up! Now dig in to your simple dip that didn’t take you more than say 5 minutes to make? I have confidence all of you can do this! Give it a try at your next party, picnic, or potluck coming up this summer 🙂

IMG_4086 (2)

IMG_4085

 

Need more Taco-inspired recipes? Try these!

Taco Pizza

Low-Carb Cheesy Taco Shells

Effortless Taco Soup

 

15 thoughts on “Layered Taco Dip

  1. I got a diaper cake when my daughter was born and it was the best gift ever. Parents love such practical gifts. And your dip looks so good! What a great potluck idea!

Leave a Reply

