Rainbow Swirl Cookies

Rainbow Swirl Cookies

As you may have noticed, the CPA exam is taking over my entire life/summer/free time 😦 Hopefully all of this studying will pay off before my job starts in September. I took my first section of the exam on Wednesday, so now I can breathe a little until the weekend is over. A lot of things have happened since my last post which if you can believe was two weeks ago!! The biggest change that I have not mentioned yet is my new do! On a whim I got around 7 inches cut off my hair. Less to shampoo and blow dry in the summertime! Woo! I literally haven’t had this short of hair in my entire life; but isn’t change good sometimes?

IMG_3922

Now to what I have been baking lately. I am addicted to the new CBS baking show: America’s Baking Competition. Every Wednesday ordinary people that are not baking professionals compete in challenges for the week’s topic. To give myself a break, I have been competing with myself to see what I can come up with every Wednesday. On of those Wednesday night creations just so happens to be these Rainbow Swirl Cookies! Take your favorite sugar cookies, whether that is a store bought mix or your own homemade recipe and make these fun, colorful cookies!

Ingredients

Sugar Cookie Mix

Butter: 1 stick

Egg: 1

Food Coloring

IMG_3800 (2)

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Prepare your sugar cookie mix; again this could be a store bought mix like I used or you can make your own recipe. After your dough prepared the fun begins with the food coloring!

IMG_3801 (2)

You want to separate your dough into four equal sections. I used the basic food coloring pack: red, yellow, blue, green. If you want to do less colors or more, just separate your dough accordingly. You will then add a different color food dye to each separate dough ball until even.

IMG_3803 (2)

IMG_3804 (2)

Now that you have your pretty colored sugar cookie dough we need to roll each color into even smaller balls. Take your first color and start breaking off smaller chunks and roll into about 1 inch size dough balls. These smaller dough balls will be what we used to make the swirled cookies. You will end up having about 12-16 dough balls for each color. The amount you make with depend how large you make your balls and how evenly you made your colored sections in the previous step. No worries, you can make all sorts of color combinations to use they all up!

IMG_3811 (2)

IMG_3813 (2)

I will show you how to make the four-colored Rainbow Swirl Cookie first. This will incorporate all of the colors you made with your cookie dough. First take a dough ball of each color and press them together.

IMG_3806 (2)

Roll them together in your hands to make one larger dough ball. The colors will begin to swirl together and look like a little beach ball.

IMG_3808 (2)

Take your sugar cookie ball and begin to roll it out into a snake. Be careful to keep the cookie dough together. You can roll it out on your cookie sheet or wax paper to make it a little easier. You will start to see all the colors swirling together at different parts of your sugar cookie snake.

IMG_3810 (2)

Then take one end of your cookie dough and begin to swirl it in, wrapping the rest of the cookie dough into a circle.  Sometimes I think just looking at a photo helps.

IMG_3814 (2)

IMG_3816 (2)

You will then have a colorful sugar cookie to place on your cookie sheet. Feel free to roll the outside of the cookies in colored sugar to give them a more polished look. Repeat this process for the rest of your sugar cookie dough balls. As you can see from the photo above, you don’t always have to use all four colors you prepared for every cookie. Make a yellow and green cookie or only primary colors; get creative and mix it up because the options are truly endless! This will help a lot if you have an uneven amount of dough balls for certain colors. Once you have a cookie sheet filled up, place them in the oven for about 10 minutes or whatever your homemade sugar cookie recipe calls for. Once they are evenly cooked you can take them out of the oven and gawk over your creations!

IMG_3818 (2)

IMG_3827 (2)

If you’re like me, you appreciate just about every cookie out there, with sugar cookies on the top of that list. It does take a lot to mess up a sugar cookie, but this is a way to do them right. This could be perfect for you to do with your friends, kids, or for a birthday party. Incorporate your favorite colors and get to baking with this fun technique!

IMG_3823 (2)

 

I hope everyone had a fabulous 4th of July! Please share any of your creative red, white, and blue recipes in the comment section for us all to check out. I wasn’t very festive this year, but I will share my new favorite potluck/picnic food item in the coming days. Thanks for all of your support again even with my lack of posts over the past few weeks. We are almost at 500 followers at Miss Chris Creations and I couldn’t be more blessed. Continue to pass my blog along to your friends and lets hit that 500 spot by the end of next week!

IMG_3828 (2)

IMG_3824

Do you like this recipe? You may also like some other festive cookies below:

Cake Batter Cookies

Semi-Homemade Snickerdoodle Cookies

S’mores Cookies

The Perfect Christmas Cookie

 

IMG_3820

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Rainbow Swirl Cookies

Leave a Reply

