Cake Batter Cookies

Cake Batter Cookies

Look what came in the mail this week! I am so proud of this very, very expensive piece of paper. Don’t worry, I quickly was told to place it in a safe place and to the bookshelf it goes. Four long years went into this Bachelors and Masters degree and I couldn’t be more proud to be a Penn State Alumna.

Ribbet collage

During my first week back to Penn State as a big ol’ alum, I went to a 21st birthday party. Now, of course I couldn’t help but make something for the birthday girl and I got to thinking. If you recall, I recently made Cake Batter Blondie Bars which are very similar to this recipe. Most people only think of cake and cupcakes when they go to a birthday party. I assure you, birthday parties no longer only mean birthday cake. If you want something original to take to your next birthday party, try out these Cake Batter Cookies. They are sure to be a hit and I can almost bet they may be a recipe you keep for a long time!

Ingredients

Yellow Cake Mix: 1 1/2 cups

Flour: 1 cup

Sugar: 3/4 cup

Baking Soda: 1/2 teaspoon

Butter:  3/4 cup or 1 1/2 sticks

Egg: 1

Vanilla: 1 teaspoon

Sprinkles: 1/2 cup

White Chocolate Chips: 1 cup

IMG_3390 (2)

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, mix your dry ingredients: cake mix, flour, and baking soda. Set these ingredients aside while you cream your butter and sugars with a mixer on medium speed. To this butter and sugar mixture, mix in your egg and vanilla until you have a creamy mixture. Add your dry ingredients that you set aside.

IMG_3391 (2)

Fold in white chocolate chips and sprinkles to your cookie batter. I went heavy on the sprinkles and white chocolate chips. Can you blame me? The rainbow sprinkles just jazz up the entire cookie batter! Oh how I wanted to just eat the cookie dough then and there 🙂

IMG_3392

On a non greased cookie sheet, place 1-2 inch cookie dough balls. You can probably get 12 cookies per cookie sheet and will have two trays worth in this batch.

IMG_3397

IMG_3398 (2)

Let these Cake Batter Cookies bake for 10-12 minutes. Once they start to turn golden and are cooked thoroughly, take them out, and let them cool for a few minutes before trying them out. Remove them from your cookie sheet and let them cool completely on a plate or wire cooling rack (only if they make it that long that is :)) Don’t you just love warm chocolate chips cookies fresh out of the oven? I know I do, so I couldn’t resist after a few minutes of cooling to try out these Cake Batter Cookies when the white chocolate chips were still ooey-gooey!

IMG_3400

IMG_3402

IMG_3405

I packaged these little guys up, leaving a few for myself of course, and off they went to my friend’s birthday party! What a perfect treat for your friend or family’s birthday party alongside their cake or cupcakes? For a while they were hidden, but once someone spotted them, they were gobbled up in no time!

IMG_3413

IMG_3406 (2)

I would say these cookies are up there in one of my favorite desserts I have made so far. The ingredients are so simple, most of them in your pantry right now. I could literally sit and eat white chocolate chips by the handful while watching TV. If you didn’t have white chocolate chips and weren’t worried necessarily about how they look, I bet regular chocolate chips would work fine too. Don’t be intimidated, I promise these cookies are not difficult to make; try them out today!

IMG_3403

IMG_3410 (2)

IMG_3414

If this is the case or you’re looking for even more recipes with this flavor check out the following recipes! All of these recipes spice up your regular desserts or snacks with an extra kick of cake batter flavor.

Cake Batter Blondie Bars: Don’t want to make cookies? These blondie bars are very similar in ingredients, but a little denser in taste!

Funfetti Chex Mix: Remove all of that powdered sugar and add some cake mix next time!

Cake Batter Krispie Treats: Add a little cake mix to your rice krispie treats and you’ll be gobbling up this mixture before it even cools.

IMG_3411

16 thoughts on “Cake Batter Cookies

  1. Pingback: Rainbow Swirl Cookies | Miss Chris Creations

Leave a Reply

