Springtime Chocolate Bird’s Nests

Springtime Bird's Nests

April is here! What does that mean? Well I am crossing my fingers for warmer weather! On top of that I am hoping for an unforgettable last month of college. I can not believe it’s finally here; I am actually going to graduate. I will be graduating with my Master’s in Accounting and I look forward to what my future can bring. But for now, I will focus on this last month. In one month I can be in a completely different place. I hope to have experiences I will never forget and actually get back on the healthy track! Now I know these precious little Springtime Chocolate Bird’s Nests won’t help, but I’m trying again. Easter is a holiday and I fully celebrate every holiday! The Easter bunny still continues to lay an egg trail from my bedroom to my Easter basket. Yes at 22 years old I still get an Easter basket and I love it more and more every year!

IMG_2740

Back to this sweet spring recipe! They were absolutely perfect for an Easter party item, but spring has just begun! You have plenty more occasions to make these for you and your family. Don’t be turned off by the ingredient list, remember anything with chocolate can’t be that bad right? 🙂

Ingredients

Chow Mein Noodles: 1 12 ounce bag

Chocolate Chips: 1/2 semi-sweet chocolate bag

Butterscotch Chips: 1/2 bag

Crisco: 1/2 tablespoon

Chocolate Eggs: 3 per nest, I used Reese’s Pieces Eggs

IMG_2702x

No need to preheat your oven for this!  You’re going to want to get your double broiler out to melt your chocolate and butterscotch chips. You can always use your microwave with 15-30 second intervals, but I find the double broiler much easier when I get the chance to use it at home. Melt your chocolate and butterscotch chips in the double broiler and add a little shortening to thin out the melted chips. You can decide not to use this if you don’t want, but it makes the mixture easier to work with. In a large bowl, pour the chow mein noodles. Once your chips are fully melted, pour the mixture over the chow mein noodles and begin to mix.

IMG_2704x

Continue to mix the noodles thoroughly so you coat all of them. You want to make sure they noodles turn from their tan color to a darker brown color (aka the chocolate!).  Once you a bowl of evenly coated crispy noodles,  you’re ready to make your nests!
IMG_2705xNow there are two different ways you can form your nests. Either way is totally up to you, I tried them both. First, I tried to make my nests by hand on a lined cookie sheet, but this was a little difficult. You would need to form each one by hand, but maybe this works for some of you.

IMG_2716xInstead I used muffin tins to fill these up. The only trick I would say would be to make sure you have a flat base on top. Use a tart shaper to press down the top or just the back of a spoon.

IMG_2710x

IMG_2709xDon’t be worried if you get a little messy. You can see the chocolate may get all of the edges or on the top of your muffin tin, but who cares! No one will see this part, well except for all of you. I actually got about 18 nests out of this batch. I made those two on the lined cookie sheet, so maybe you could get 20 max at the size I did. Now you can press your candy eggs down right away or to make it easier, I would melt a few chocolate chips in a bowl in the microwave and use this to secure your eggs. Just lightly dip your eggs in the melted chocolate and then press three eggs down per nest.

IMG_2718x

IMG_2717x

IMG_2721x

IMG_2719x

IMG_2726xI couldn’t stop taking pictures of these! They can out so  precious and perfect for spring! Let these sit in the muffin tins for a few hours or you could place them in the refrigerator to speed up the process. Once the chocolate has hardened you are ready to carefully remove these from the muffin tins. You can just use a utensil and pry these out from the edges, it shouldn’t be too difficult!

IMG_2734x

IMG_2730x

Place these on a pretty dish to serve and get ready for your family and friends to “Oooo” and “Ahh”! Believe me this happened as soon as I walked in the kitchen with these 🙂  Enjoy and please share your Easter holiday treats and stories!!IMG_2733x

IMG_2729x

IMG_2731x

7 thoughts on “Springtime Chocolate Bird’s Nests

  1. Thanks for the like! These look so cute, and delicious! – Also, I’m graduating in a month too, just with my Bachelors though 🙂 But I know the strange unrealistic feeling of it all!

Leave a Reply

