S’mores Banana Boats

S'mores Banana Boats

Another week goes by, and I still have my three little bananas hanging in the kitchen. As they turn from green, to yellow, and now they’re perfectly ripe, I still just look at them and grab something else to eat. This week I told myself I would absolutely not throw away any fresh items that I bought at the store. Hence, my Roasted Garden Vegetables. However, I still was unsure what to do with these pesky bananas I always think I’m going to eat. Well, here you go ladies and gentleman, the perfect recipe to eat your bananas and have a little fun while doing it. Yes, I know I could just peel the banana and eat it, but what’s the fun in that? Add a little peanut butter, chocolate, and marshmallows and I am officially suckered into eating a banana. Have the same problem with buying more bananas than you can possibly just peel and eat? Try out a S’mores Banana Boat today! πŸ™‚

Ingredients (per banana boat)

Banana: 1 medium

PB2: 1 tablespoon

Chocolate Chips: 1 tablespoon

Marshmallows: 1 tablespoon

(Optional) Graham Cracker, Crushed Nuts

IMG_2503xPreheat your oven to 350 degrees. Cut your banana down the long end of the skin. Cut in the banana about half way. You don’t want to cut through the entire banana, nor do you want to cut to the bottom. Leave about a half an inch on both ends so it stays together while baking as well.IMG_2504x

After sliced, you can push the banana open a little with your knife and add your peanut butter. Again, I used my favorite ingredient, PB2 to save some calories, but you can easily splurge a little and use real peanut butter. (It’s only a tablespoon!) Add your peanut butter into your banana boat and try to push it in the middle of your sliced banana. Next, take your chocolate chips and press them into your peanut butter.Β IMG_2509x

At this point you can even add some graham cracker, to make it a complete s’more or some nuts. I’m definitely using some crushed walnuts next time, yum! πŸ™‚ We still have our marshmallows, but I would save these for a few more minutes. Make sure your banana is on a cookie sheet if it’s not already and then place in your oven.IMG_2510x Let your banana cook for 5 minutes or until the chocolate begins to melt. I then carefully pulled out the cookie sheet and added my marshmallows. I let this cook for a few more minutes and even turned the broiler on for a minute (not any longer!!) to make them golden brown. IMG_2513xKeep in mind your banana will get brown on the skin. Don’t be worried about this, the warmed banana boat you will have is worth the weird coloring. Like I said, only let your banana boat cook a little longer with the marshmallows. Then you can take your cookie sheet out of the oven and carefully place your S’mores Banana Boat on a plate. Get out your spoon and dig in. This healthy, but savory little snack is best eaten when warm! I mean if you look at the first photo I posted, you can justΒ seeΒ the melted chocolate and marshmallow in that bite. Literally these are amazing. What more could you want than a warmed banana with all of these delicious ingredients inside? Portion control is key and this recipe nails it if you ask me! Just enough sweet to make my stomach happy.IMG_2515

IMG_2517

Next time you’re looking for something sweet and want to still stay in your calorie range for the day, try a S’mores Banana Boat! These little snacks are only around 200-230 calories and will actually keep you full. Instead of grabbing a a bag of chips and getting almost zero nutrients, this can be your new go-to-snack. With the entire prep time and cooking time under 15 minutes, why wouldn’t you give these a try? And if you’re like me, any recipe that uses up those bananas that I always buy and never get around to eating is a good recipe in my book! What are some of your favorite recipes to use up your bananas?

IMG_2519x

IMG_2518

33 thoughts on “S’mores Banana Boats

  1. Thank you for your reply on my blog and I will surely stop by here again. I always have a few bananas left over that my fiance refuses to eat and this is the perfect way to doll them up and make them appeal edible again lol. Great ideas and recipes. Keep up the good work πŸ™‚

  2. Ok, so I was checking out your blog about an hour ago and read this post. I went upstairs to see if I had everything to make me a S’more Banana Boat. Luckily I did, and it was……AMAZING! I can’t wait to try s’more of your creations now! HA

    • Wait I’m so glad you got to try them!! I absolutely loved them and I just made another banana recipe last night. Should be blogging that tonight or tomorrow so be on the look out! Thanks for your support πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: Banana Sushi | Miss Chris Creations

  4. Pingback: Banana Crumb Muffins | Miss Chris Creations

Leave a Reply

