Red Velvet Cookie Sandwiches

Red Velvet Cookie Sandwiches

Calling all red velvet lovers! This dessert is for you. If you thought red velvet cake was good, imagine it in a cookie! Yes, I know Panera Bread has there Red Velvet Crinkle Cookie, which I do love, but they have a whopping 390 calories per one cookie!8392167363_8555483b2d_z Although these are a Sweet Treat in my book, they are only 155 calories per sandwich. If you’re looking for something sweet, but don’t want to completely kill your diet, like at Panera (sorry Panera lovers), I think these little sandwiches are right up your alley.

Still feeling guilty by making Red Velvet Cookie Sandwiches? Let me rationalize these for you a little bit more. One of my favorite ways to get a little bit of sweet in and not feel as guilty is to take it to a party. I can still eat one or two along the way, but I don’t have two dozen cookies sitting on my counter. If the food is in my reach, I will eat it. If you take it to a friend’s party or gathering, not only will everyone love you for bringing such a pretty dessert, but you avoid the temptation after the night is over.

Ingredients

Cookies

Red Velvet Cake Mix: 1 box

Eggs: 2

Vegetable Oil: ½ cup

Vanilla: 1 teaspoon

Icing

Light Cream Cheese: 1 (8 ounce) package, softened

Butter: ¼ cup, softened

Vanilla: 1 teaspoon

Powdered Sugar: 2-3 cups

IMG_2400x

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Mix your red velvet cake mix, with your eggs, vegetable oil, and vanilla extract in a large bowl. No need for your mixer yet, stirring by hand should work out just fine. You will begin to notice you are stirring a fairly thick cookie batter. This should look much different than your typical red velvet cake batter. I have seen some recipes that add water, but I didn’t feel the need to liquefy my cookie batter anymore.IMG_2406x Although this may seem thick, remember you are making cookie sandwiches, not just any old cookie. You will want your cookie to be able to stand on its own and not crumble when icing is placed in the middle.I couldn’t resist eating a little bit of the batter, shh don’t tell anyone! This does have egg in it, so I don’t recommend eating it raw before baking, although I tried a little before.IMG_2408x

Take out a cookie sheet and add your batter in 1 inch balls. I flattened these balls out a little on the cookie sheet because I wasn’t quite sure how these cookies would bake.IMG_2404x

IMG_2402x

After seeing them bake fully, I don’t think you would need to add this step and just adding cookie batter balls should be perfectly fine.

IMG_2401x

Bake for 10 minutes or until fully baked through. You definitely don’t want to have your cookies underbaked to make a good cookie sandwich! I do like a gooey cookie every once and a while, but this won’t work very well and they will fall apart when you try to put your icing on.IMG_2409x Now get out your mixer and mix your icing ingredients in a bowl. You can fiddle with the amount of powdered sugar you prefer for your cream cheese icing. I guesstimated how much powdered sugar I used. Somewhere around the 2-3 cup amount is pretty close. I then placed the cream cheese icing in a ziplock bag and put it in the refrigerator for an hour. This will allow your icing to thicken up before making your cookie sandwiches. Remove from the refrigerator and cut the corner on your bag to easily squeeze out on your red velvet cookies.IMG_2413x Take a cooled cookie, flip over and add your cream cheese icing! Yum! Place another red velvet cookie on top of your icing and there you have it; a pretty Red Velvet Cookie Sandwich!IMG_2415x

IMG_2420x Repeat for the amount of cookies you have and if you have an odd number, you are in luck. That cookie is all for you!IMG_2416x Like I suggested above, I took these cookies to a friend for her 22nd birthday, so I added a little icing on a sandwich for her. She absolutely loved them and from the looks of the container the next day when I visited her, so did her roommates!IMG_2418x

IMG_2419x I saved a few cookies for myself and a sandwich for my roommate, but the rest were gone. As you can see, I also made some powdered sugar crinkle sandwiches too. You can always add a little powdered sugar to your cookie balls before baking to add a fun little twist. I had so much fun making them and I love surprising my friends with sweet goodies! Remember, these are literally only 155 calories, so you can relax knowing that you are better off eating this than one of those calorie filled cookies at the local bakery or coffee shop. Enjoy!

IMG_2421x

11 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cookie Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

