Roasted Garden Vegetables

I am guilty of being the biggest snacker! Snacking is definitely my downfall, so this week I am trying to eat complete meals. I bought a ton of vegetables and good proteins to make this actually happen. Usually I buy these items and sometimes they just go bad. I was determined to not let this happen again. I did not want to be throwing money in the trash. After my Applebee’s excursion on Monday, I was convinced I could recreate a simple garden vegetable side and look at me go! I have been under my net calories for the past three days and have actually been full thanks to eating real meals! It may sound silly, but this is a huge step in the right direction. I hope you find this recipe easy to recreate for yourself and can get back in the groove of full meals.

Ingredients

Red Pepper: 1/2 sliced

Green Pepper: 1/2 sliced

Broccoli: 1 crown

Zucchini: 1 sliced

Summer Squash: 1 sliced

Potatoes: 2 small white, diced

Extra Virgin Olive Oil: 2 tablespoons

(Optional) Garlic and other seasonings

IMG_2350

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees and then get out all of your vegetables. This recipe can be altered for your favorite seasonal vegetables as well! I used red and green peppers, broccoli, zucchini, squash, and potatoes because these are some of my favorites. Start off by slicing and dicing your various vegetables.

IMG_2351Depending on how large of a cookie sheet or casserole dish you want to use, you can cut up a little more or less than I used. I only had enough room to use about a half a pepper each. I’ll end up eating the other half of the peppers on my salads throughout the rest of the week. After cutting up all of your vegetables, toss with olive oil in a bowl or in your cookie sheet. Feel free to add another tablespoon of olive virgin if they look a little dry. I added a few shakes of oregano, garlic, and a few other basic spices to add a little extra flavor to the veggies.

IMG_2352

These colorful vegetables are now ready to be popped in the oven for about 30 minutes. I added all my vegetables in one cookie sheet at the same heat at first. I noticed the broccoli was cooking a lot quicker than the other vegetables, so I actually removed them after 20 minutes. I also noticed the potatoes weren’t as soft as I would like, so I would even recommend cooking your vegetables in stages. You could easily add the potatoes for 15 minutes first to your cookie sheet or dish. After the time has elapsed add the rest of the vegetables except for the broccoli for another 10 minutes. The last 20 minute interval you could add your broccoli and this would help for more even roasting. It depends on your taste, but cooking your vegetables in stages could definitely help for some of you.

IMG_2353After 30-40 minutes your vegetables will be done and ready to eat! Eat while warm alongside the rest of your meal or just as a healthy side. Each serving is only 95 calories, how perfect is that? The perfect side to any meal!

IMG_2356I made 5 bowl size servings, which is perfect to help me have a healthy option whenever I get hungry. I ate this with some chicken and it left me a lot fuller than normal. I placed the rest of my garden vegetables in a tuperware container and have reached for this multiple times already! I feel great that I now have healthy alternatives to fill me up and stop me from grabbing the bag of pretzels every time I get hungry.

IMG_2358

I know this may be a basic recipe, but this has come in handy for me this week. If you’re looking to recreate some of those simple sides you get at your favorite restaurants, this recipe may be for you!

IMG_2357

9 thoughts on “Roasted Garden Vegetables

  1. Pingback: S’mores Banana Boats | Miss Chris Creations

Leave a Reply

