Crispy Peanut Butter Truffles

Crispy Peanut Butter Truffles

I am officially back up at State College for the final two months of my Penn State career! I can not believe how fast time flies. In addition to my trip to Las Vegas, I also had my fair share of Rita’s Italian Ice over spring break. Rita’s officially opened up the Friday I came home from break in my hometown and I couldn’t resist going for my first gelati of the season. This was then followed by many more visits over the past week.ritas collageA little back story: I worked at Rita’s for 3 years when I was in High School and the beginning of college, so you could say I have a slight addiction to all of the treats they offer! My brother now works at our recently opened store in our hometown so it’s even harder to say no. Yum yum yum! Please let me know that I’m not the only Rita’s addict out there 🙂

I also couldn’t say no to a little baking, well no-baking to be correct, over break. My boyfriend and I went to a friend’s birthday party and whenever someone asks if I will bring a dish, well, the gears start turning. I absolutely loved the Red Velvet Truffles I made a few months ago and was enjoying my sweet tooth binge a little too much when I came up with these Crispy Peanut Butter Truffles. No, I did not use the PB2, these are full-on peanut butter and I loved them. Luckily they’re gone and so is the temptation! If you need a quick snack or treat to take to your next party, I’m telling you these will be a definite hit!

Ingredients

Rice Krispies: 3 cups

Peanut Butter: ½ cup

Butter: 2 tablespoons

Honey: 1 tablespoon

Cinnamon: 1 teaspoon

Marshmallows: 20 large

White Chocolate Candy Wafers: 1 cup

(Optional) Sprinkles: 2 teaspoonsIMG_2283x

Usually I start off my recipes with preheating your oven, but lucky for you this recipe does not involve an oven! You can use the stovetop to melt your butter and other ingredients if you want, but I used a microwave to make this recipe even simpler. Add your butter to a large microwave safe bowl and place in the microwave for 30 seconds. Your butter should be melted or at least fairly melted and ready to add your marshmallows to your bowl. Place back in the microwave for another 30 second interval, stir, and heat for another 30 seconds. You can also just melt it all together at once which is what I did.IMG_2285

At this point you should have a whipped marshmallow mixture, similar to when you make regular rice Krispies. This is where the fun starts! Add your peanut butter, cinnamon, and honey to your marshmallow mixture and stir in as much as possible. Place back in the microwave for the final 30 seconds. Stir your mixture and as long as your peanut butter can be easily mixed with the rest of the ingredients, no more microwaving for you!IMG_2287

Depending on how large of a bowl you used to microwave your ingredients, you can either add your cereal to the mixture or pour your mixture over the cereal in a larger bowl if you need to. I prefer just pouring the cereal into my marshmallow mixture bowl to not waste any of the gooey mixture!!IMG_2286 Quickly fold in your cereal with the mixture and make sure to scrap the bottom and sides of your bowl to ensure all of the cereal is coated evenly. Let cool for at least 10 minutes. In the mean time, line a cookie sheet with wax or parchment paper and get out your dipping chocolate and sprinkles. Once your crispy batter is cooled you can form 1 inch balls and place them on your lined cookie sheet.IMG_2291 You may need to grease your hands a little beforehand, but I didn’t have much of a problem with the batter being sticky.IMG_2290

IMG_2288 Form as many truffle balls as you can, I made 30. Depending on the size you want, you can definitely make more. I also ate some of the batter, surprise surprise 🙂

IMG_2289

After you are out of batter, you should get your double broiler out or another microwave safe bowl to melt your white chocolate wafers. I used both, but I think the double broiler always melts a little better. Add some coating chips or a little Crisco if you find your chocolate is not getting thin enough to dip your truffles in. Add one truffle in your chocolate at a time, coat with chocolate, and then shake off any excess chocolate before placing back on your lined cookie sheet.IMG_2292

 

IMG_2293 Repeat this for all of your truffles and top with your favorite sprinkles or drizzled chocolate to add a charming touch.IMG_2304x

IMG_2298x Let the chocolate harden for an hour or place in the refrigerator for a quicker fix. Don’t leave your Crispy Peanut Butter Truffles in the refrigerator for more than an hour or they will need to soften up before serving.IMG_2301x

IMG_2297x

IMG_2306 Our family and friends loved these little treats and they did not last long on the tray. I would say the only complaint was that there weren’t enough haha! I’ll know to make more next time! These are perfect though if you need something quick and you want to re-do your basic Rice Krispie Treat. The honey and peanut butter really take this basic treat to the next level.IMG_2305

24 thoughts on “Crispy Peanut Butter Truffles

  1. Crunchy truffles is a fun twist! Peanut butter plus chocolate plus crunch has to equal delicious. 🙂 Chris, you should install a Pinterest button so you can share these goodies!

  2. I love Rita’s! I haven’t been if forever though. I might have to make a field trip down there tomorrow. …and then make truffles for dessert. You can have dessert after dessert, right?

  3. Pingback: Blog Party ~ Simple and Sweet Desserts | Atlantamomofthree

Leave a Reply

