Peanut Butter Banana Bread Bars

Peanut Butter Banana Bread Bars

Oh how predictable, Christine makes another recipe with her new go-to ingredient PB2.What is not so predictable is the fact that I have posted for the past four days in a row! I have been trying so hard after my hiatus before and during Spring Break. I even worked on changing my background theme design. How do you guys like the new blog theme?

Now back to the recipe; I started off trying to make a peanut butter cookie without flour, hence using the banana. I wanted to cut down the calories in this sweet dessert, so I tried using my PB2 in place of regular or reduced fat peanut butter. However, I still haven’t mastered the PB2 to water ratio. Even though it says one part PB2 for one part water, I still think the water part is a little less. For this reason, these cookies quickly got a little too runny and I was running out of PB2 to add. Now I didn’t want to waste this perfectly good batter, even though it was a little too thin for cookies. This is where the bars came into play. Instead of putting the batter into little balls to make cookies, I took my smallest brownie sheet pan and poured the batter in. I cooked it for about 15 minutes and a thin little bar came out!

I would definitely recommend either doubling the recipe or adding a little more peanut butter to get a thicker bar or a regular cookie. Either way, I thought I would still share this recipe because in two days I literally ate the entire pan! Couldn’t have been that bad right? Even better was the fact that each of these bars were less than 40 calories and so soft! I didn’t feel any sense of guilt eating 5 in one day 🙂 When I head back to school you can be assured I will make these again, trying to perfect the perfect PB2 cookie!

Ingredients

Banana: 1 medium

PB2: 8 tablespoons

Sugar: 1/4 cup

Stevia: 2 packet

Egg: 1/2

Pure Vanilla Extract: 1 teaspoon

Light Brown Sugar: 1 teaspoon

Oatmeal: 1/4 cup

IMG_2037

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees and get ready for a new take on banana bread. I started off mixing up my PB2 and then adding the other ingredients  I ended up adding a little bit of oatmeal to resist using flour and to help thicken the mixture. It did help get me to a nice batter for bars, but still no cookie. Like I said, if you doubled a few of your ingredients and used a little less water I bet you could get a cookie or even a thicker bar. I was just experimenting, so below is what my batter looked like before baking.

IMG_2038

After about 15 minutes in the oven, I got a thin banana bread bar! The kitchen started smelling delicious and I had to resist eating them before I let them cool. They needed to cool for about five minutes, so they would be easier to cut. IMG_2039

I love cutting my desserts in small pieces, so I feel like I get to eat more. If I can eat two small bars instead of one larger bar, my mind is confused and I am one happy girl. I got 15 bars out of my recipe, but let me tell you these were very small, most people would probably get 10 normal size square bars.

IMG_2041Now I am the first to admit this isn’t the perfect bar to take to a party, although I don’t think your guests would be able to resist. I would make these for your family first, or if you are me, all for yourself!! I will post in the near future a perfect cookie which anyone would be jumping over.

IMG_2045For now, hopefully you enjoy these PB Banana Bread Bars as much as I did when I needed a sweet fix. Eating a few of these didn’t knock me off of my healthy eating, but did give me the sweet that I craved. They are so moist and didn’t get crunchy or dry at all which I loved. Let me know if any of you have good ideas on how to thicken this recipe without using flour for the next time!IMG_2040

IMG_2043

9 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Banana Bread Bars

  1. I bet chia seeds could be a good ingredient to add to these bars because they ‘gum’ up when they’re wet. If you don’t like those, maybe investing in a bag of xantham gum/guar gum would be useful, but I’ve never tried them. People who cook with them say the bags last forever and can be used to thicken smoothies, etc!

  2. They look really moist and delicious. I have never seen that PB2 short of your blog before. Must give a try if I can find it. The bars are a perfect small treat that are pretty healthy. Nice!

  3. Pingback: Peanut Butter Banana Bread Bars | The Rag Tree

  4. Pingback: Peanut Butter & Nutella Oatmeal Cookies | Miss Chris Creations

  5. Pingback: Banana Crumb Muffins | Miss Chris Creations

Leave a Reply

