A Super Sweet Trip to Vegas

A Super Sweet Trip to Vegas

As I sit under my comfy blanket, looking at the almost 6 inches of snow outside, I started daydreaming of the donuts I ate a few days ago in Vegas. I had to settle for eggs, an english muffin, and four strips of bacon for breakfast, what a rough life 🙂

However, the Monkey See, Monkey Do donut above was seriously one of the favorite things I ate during my long weekend in Las Vegas. My girlfriends and I sat down for breakfast in New York New York Hotel and saw a little donut shop out front. Although we had already ordered full meals, we couldn’t help but get up from our table and check out what America’s Donut Shop had to offer. I mean, we could always take them on the road right? Little did we know how tasty these donuts would be and the short amount of time they would last in the box. We decided to order 7 donuts (that was the size I promise), so 7 donuts for 3 girls. A normal amount to order right? Here is what we went with:

2 of the above Monkey See Monkey Do’s. These were a peanut butter iced donut with chocolate chips and nuts on top, filled with a banana custard center. YUM!

1 Snickers Chocolate Cake. This was a chocolate cake donut topped with a chocolate glaze and candy pieces.

IMG_2195

1 Long John. Your typical long donut with chocolate and white chocolate swirl icing. No filling, bummer.

IMG_2197

1 Maple Brown Sugar. This long donut was topped with a maple brown sugar icing and bacon pieces on top. Yes I said BACON! What a perfect breakfast donut.

IMG_2196

1 Boston Creme. Now this is what a Boston Creme should taste like! A chocolate glazed donut, filled with custard, and topped with chocolate crunchies. The chocolate, almost Nestle Crunch Bar tasting pieces made the entire donut!

IMG_2199

1 Strawberry Shortcake. The sweetest donut of the bunch turned out to be my favorite. Well, its a toss up between this one and the monkey see donut. It was topped with a strawberry icing, filled with custard and strawberry jelly. Like, what more could you want?

IMG_2200

Oh and then my meal came (WHOOPS!):

IMG_2201

I hope I made your mouths drool a little bit and gave you a little insight into what I ate when I was in Vegas. Let’s just say I went off the diet path for the weekend. Now that I’m home for the rest of the week for Spring Break, getting back on track has been quite difficult; taking it one day at a time.

Now for the fun part of this post! My first ever blogging nomination: The Super Sweet Blogging Award 🙂

super-sweet-blogging-award21w6451

Thank you to Sapana at Cooking with Sapana and Chef Randall at Savor the Food for both nominating me for the Super Sweet Blogging Award! This was my first award I received since beginning my life in the blogging world. I am so humbled to think how quickly I have gained followers and views on my blog in four short months. I not only enjoy making new recipes for myself, but have come to love sharing with everyone else and finding new recipes along the way. I could not be more thankful for the support and nominations for these awards.

So here are the official rules:

1  Visit and thank the blogger who nominated you.
2  Acknowledge that blogger on your blog and link back.
3 Answer the “Super Sweet” questions.
4  Nominate a “Baker’s Dozen” (award 13 blogs), link to their blogs in your post, and notify them on their blogs.
5  Copy and paste the award on your blog somewhere.

Super Sweet Questions:

1. Cookies or Cake?     

Cookies: I can rationalize eating 5 cookies way more than 5 slices of cake!

2. Chocolate or Vanilla?

Vanilla

3. What is your favorite sweet treat?

Red Velvet anything

4. When do you crave sweet things the most?     

If “all the time” is too cliche, definitely at night. I always get the munchies after dinner.

5. If you had a sweet nickname, what would it be?     

Sweetheart: Not only does hearing it make you feel good, but it’s also the name of my favorite holiday candy!

 

This award is such an honor to receive from my two fellow followers, but this is the part where the gift keeps on giving. Below are 13 other bloggers that deserve this Super Sweet Award as well! I have nominated the following bloggers and hope you will check out there blogs as well.

27 Cupcakes: Do I need to say more than Low Fat White and Dark Chocolate Blondies?

Emily Cooks Vegan: Even if you are not a vegetarian, the recipes she has are perfect for any diet! After my numerous apple recipes lately, I have been dying to make these Baked Apples.

Irena & Dots: Please tell me even if she only did the decorations, how precious this cake is?

Cooking Skinny: Angie is helping us all stick to our 2013 resolutions by posting her skinny and clean recipes. These Chocolate Coconut Balls should do the trick for a morning snack, post workout, or when you’re craving something sweet.

Can’t Stay Out of the Kitchen: Two words: Breakfast Cobbler. I know this is on my list for weekend recipes.

Eliza’s Dishes: I am a sucker for pistachio and am still looking for the perfect time to make this frozen dessert!

Eat Like a Lady, Eat Like a Man: I absolutely love the concept of this blog! She has a complete recipe index which is fabulous and I am a sucker for a good gluten-free cookie recipe! Check out these peanut butter ones.

Cozycakes Cottage: This crafty mom recently posted some mouth-watering Blackberry Jam Squares that you must try! I know I will be very soon!

A Pug In The Kitchen: Her recipes are so simple! These brownies not only look nice and moist, but the touch of icing tops of the entire dish. A definite dessert to try!

Emma’s Baking Addiction: On my quest to eat better, I will try any good “skinny” dish once!

Linda Makiej: After having the most amazing bread pudding in Vegas this past weekend, I have been craving a good recipe. Linda’s slow cooker bread pudding recipe is just what I need!

Petit4chocolatier: There are very few blogs that come close to these beautiful photos. I don’t think you can go wrong with baking any of her absolutely extraordinary cupcakes.

Atlanta Mom of Three: This mother of three introduced me to my first ever Blog Party! It was a fabulous experience to meet other bloggers and find new recipes. If you want to get in on her next one check out her latest party post!

Thanks again for the nomination of my first ever blogging award and I will continue to post the other awards I have received in the upcoming weeks. For now, check out some of the blogs I mentioned and get baking! 🙂

20 thoughts on “A Super Sweet Trip to Vegas

  1. Thank you, Christine! I think you’re pretty sweet too! I hope you will be contributing another delicious recipe for the new party! 😀

  2. Loving the food in Vegas! Congratulations on your Super Sweet Award!
    Thank you for including me in the honor among all these beautiful people and their sensational blogs! I appreciate it 🙂

  3. Oh do I love doughnuts those look so good. I live near Dough which is an amazing doughnut shop in Brooklyn and if I could I would go there every day but I hold myself back and make it there occasionally. There is nothing quite like a good doughnut! Congratulations on the award, it’s well deserved and thank you for nominating me, I am honored and truly appreciate it.

  4. Thank you so much for this nomination. It means a lot to me. It’s especially encouraging to me now that I’ve switched over to self-hosting and lost most of my WordPress family! Thanks again, and congratulations on winning the award yourself. It is much deserved!

  5. Pingback: Super Sweet Blogging Award | Atlantamomofthree

Leave a Reply

