Flatbread Pizzas (Gluten-Free!)

Flatbread Pizzas (Gluten-Free!)

With the Superbowl coming up, I started thinking over the weekend what I was going to have for my low-key night in watching some football (more importantly Beyonce!). Don’t get me wrong, I would love to just get out a jar of queso or make some buffalo chicken dip and eat until the Tostitos bag is empty, but I decided to get creative. Instead of eating all the junk food my stomach can take, I opted to make some homemade and absolutely delicious Flatbread Pizzas!

If you’re like me, you love having a personal pizza, no sharing, no problem! When I usually order my half pepperoni, half cheese Thin-N-Crispy Pizza Hut pizza, I wind up eating 3-4 pieces and not realizing I gobbled up over 1000 calories!!

This recipe is perfect for a lower calorie intake, but definitely does not skimp on taste! These pizzas are great to eat during the week when you don’t feel like making a huge dinner, for that afternoon snack, or for your kids to help you with dinner! Grab your favorite pizza toppings and cut the calories of your typical Thin-N-Crispy Pizza!

 Ingredients

Wrap: 1 (Sonoma Whole Wheat Gluten-Free)

Pizza Sauce: 2 tablespoons

Pepperoni: 6 slices

Peppers: Red and Green (as many slices as you want!)

(optional) Oregano/Italian Seasonings: 1 teaspoon each

IMG_1610x

You could always use a lower calorie wrap instead of the Sonoma Gluten-Free ones! I wanted to try these though and for an extra 90 calories, if my stomach felt better afterward, I figured it was worth it!IMG_1611x

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Lay one wrap on your skillet, cookie sheet, or pizza stone. Add pizza sauce to the wrap, leaving about a half an inch on the outside for your crispy pizza crust!

IMG_1613x

Cut up your vegetables if you are using any! I only used a few slices of peppers, but it definitely added a lot of great taste!

IMG_1612x

Sprinkle some of your seasoning on the sauce and then begin to add your toppings! You can add your vegetables and pepperoni first or your cheese. Either way will work and feel free to mix it up! My boyfriend isn’t a huge fan of vegetables, so here is how his all-man all-pepperoni pizza looked! IMG_1614xAfter his came out smelly great, I got a little jealous and made mine! I added green and red peppers and only a few pepperonis.IMG_1619x I know in my ingredients photo I added some spinach, but ran out of room when I was putting it all together. As you can see, any of your favorite pizza toppings will work, so don’t worry if you don’t have all of the ingredients I used!

Put your pizza into the oven for 8-12 minutes or until your cheese has melted and the crust looks crispy!

IMG_1617x

IMG_1626x

IMG_1624x Let cool for a 2 minutes and then cut into 6 pieces!IMG_1630x

IMG_1633This was the absolute perfect Superbowl appetizer and I still could keep my diet in line. I sat back, ate a pizza and a half, watched the game (a little!), watched ALL of the halftime show, and enjoyed a few of the funny commercials. Both of the pizzas came out great and the boyfriend was happy as well, so two thumbs up to this new recipe! Will definitely make these pizzas again soon!

IMG_1631x

18 thoughts on “Flatbread Pizzas (Gluten-Free!)

  1. How yummy do those look?! I’m not even gluten intolerant. But would like to order some perleaseeee! 🙂 I adore veggies on pizzas. Peppers/mushrooms/onions/jalapenos/chili/spinach/pineapple – the whole lot! Chucked on with an extra tomatoey base!! 🙂

    • These are absolutely fabulous! I just started broadening my horizons and adding topping more than just cheese and pepperoni. I absolutely love peppers, spinach, and chunky tomato sauce! I hope you try these sometime too when you are hungry for pizza 🙂

Leave a Reply

