Bangin’ Veggie Burgers

Bangin' Veggie Burgers

I am completely obsessed with these veggie burgers they have at a restaurant downtown and I was on a mission to recreate them. Although, I didn’t use all of the ingredients they probably do, this recipe is perfect for a beginner. I’ve never made veggie burgers before, so I was pretty proud of myself! The options are endless for what you can add to your burgers and I can’t wait to make these again soon.

I used a few raw vegetables and then some dry ingredients. I have now found reason number 54 that I need a food processor! Until then, I just chopped away and still came out with some banging burgers! If you’re looking to cut some carbs as well you can just put your burger on top of a bed of lettuce. By adding this to your salad you only increase your calories by 130, but the protein from the beans will keep you fuller for much longer. Overall the flavors in these veggie burgers are great and I’m definitely glad to have some leftovers for the next few days!

Ingredients

White Beans: 1 15 oz can

Panko Bread Crumbs: ¼ cup

Sunflower Seeds: ¼ cup

Zucchini: 1/8 diced/sliced into pieces

Sun-dried Tomatoes: 1/8 cup

Onion Powder: 1 teaspoon

Garlic Powder: 1 teaspoon (ended up getting lazy and using this instead of garlic cloves)

IMG_1554x

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. First use a food processor or finely chop your sunflower seeds.IMG_1555

Open your can of beans carefully and drain the liquid. I was a little weirded out by the liquid so I also threw the beans in a strainer and rinsed them all off with water. Take them in a bowl and mash them with a potato masher or any utensil. Then add all other ingredients to your bowl of beans. Continue folding in the ingredients. You may need to use your hands at some point. I found this to be much easier to handle. Once your ingredients are all mixed together, form them into 5 patties.

Add 1 tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil to your oven safe skillet and turn your stove top on to medium high. Once your oil has heated up, place your burgers on the skillet softly.IMG_1559x

IMG_1558x

Let them cook for 2 minutes and then flip to the other side. Each side should be lightly golden brown and then you can move your oven safe skillet to the oven!

Let these cool for 10 minutes and then remove them from the oven. Flip each burger to the other side. You may want to carefully mold the burgers into a nice burger shape to keep them together. Be careful because these will be hot since they were just in the oven. A little extra molding helps to keep the burgers together though. Let them cook in the oven for another 10 minutes and then remove them from the oven.

IMG_1560x

Pair your homemade veggie burger with a vegetable for dinner or place on top of some salad for a quick lunch. These burgers can be placed in a pita or on top of your typical hamburger bun. The options are endless for these veggie burgers so make a few extra to get creative during your weekly meals.IMG_1561x

I went with the bed of romaine lettuce for my veggie burger today and I topped it with some alfalfa sprouts and a little zesty light Italian dressing.IMG_1567x

The perfect lunch compared to my boring salad or sandwich. I hope you try these over the weekend or the beginning of next week for your lunches. Enjoy! 🙂IMG_1565x

IMG_1562x

IMG_1564x

IMG_1570

6 thoughts on “Bangin’ Veggie Burgers

  1. I have only ever made falafel, but I love the idea of making bean burgers. Particularly like the idea of the ground sunflower seeds!

  2. Ooooh interesting choice of ingredients– I like it! I usually use black beans in my veggie burgers; I totally need to try white beans. The zucchini sounds like an awesome ingredient to add, too. AND I looooove that you put alfalfa sprouts on top! Mmm, why haven’t I tried that yet??
    These look fantastic. 🙂

    • I’m glad you find this recipe fun! I’m definitely trying a black bean recipe soon, I was just trying something similar to what I ate at a restaurant. And I LOVE alfalfa sprouts on salads and sandwiches, adds a little something! 🙂 enjoy!

Leave a Reply

