Baked Carrot Fries

Baked Carrot FriesTwo weeks ago I admitted my new found addiction to hummus, the tomato and basil Trader Joe’s hummus to be specific. I think I have eaten 2 containers per week since I came back to school. I haven’t been able to get enough of the vegetable chips and sticks they have at Trader Joe’s. I was completely thrilled with the thought I could eat so much for one serving, but one serving turned into half the bag. I have literally eaten a bag every other day until I finally said enough was enough! I am trying to hold off buying these delicious chips for a few days, so what better to dip in my hummus but carrots! Raw carrots can get slightly boring and not that appetizing for a foodie like me, so carrot fries here I come!

IMG_1278

These baked carrot fries are not only delicious, but are my version of healthy! Maybe you aren’t a fan of vegetables or your kids turn their noses up when you put cooked carrots on their plate. Carrots don’t have to be boring and yucky! Keep up with your New Year’s Resolutions, mix it up, and try these for yourself.

Ingredients

Baby Carrots: 1 cup

Extra Virgin Olive Oil: 1 tablespoon

Salt: 1 teaspoon

First, preheat your oven to 275 degrees and take your carrots out of refrigerator. I only had a half a bag left, so this came out to be around a cup or so. Feel free to make as many as you have, also keeping in mind if you’re just snacking for yourself, or you want some for someone else 🙂
IMG_1270x

IMG_1271xI had baby carrots, so slicing them in half works out perfect. Be careful when cutting these, since some of them are smaller than others. The skinnier they are the faster they will cook, so try to keep them all similar is size.

IMG_1273x

IMG_1274xAfter you have cut all of your carrots up, take a tablespoon of olive oil and pour it in a bowl. I used a tablespoon and had a little too much, so you may need a little less if you’re making the same amount I made. Put your carrots in the bowl and make sure they all get some olive oil on them. This little bit of olive oil will take your regular raw carrots to something you actually want to eat, without adding a ton of calories. Place your carrots on your cookie sheet and sprinkle salt over them.

IMG_1275x

Make sure all of the carrots are spread out on the cookie sheet and then they are ready to go in the oven! Cook them for 35-40 minutes or until they are crisp enough for you. Check on them towards the end of the time limit to make sure they don’t burn!IMG_1276x

IMG_1277x

Once they are done, let them cool and then they are ready to plate! If you see a little bit of darker pieces, this is because I turned on the broiler for a little to get them crisper. I wouldn’t recommend this, just let them bake for an extra 5 minutes instead.IMG_1279Serve with a size of hummus or your favorite dip and enjoy! I know this isn’t as healthy as just eating the carrots out of the bag, but this is definitely more up my alley and will keep me from running to Trader Joe’s today!

IMG_1281

IMG_1282xPer cup serving: 143 calories (not too shabby!)

10 thoughts on “Baked Carrot Fries

Leave a Reply

