An Apple A Day: Baked Cinnamon Apples

An Apple A Day: Baked Cinnamon Apples

On my quest to eat all of my healthy foods I bought, I decided to make another sweet dish. When I realized I still had an entire bag of apples in the refrigerator, I was positive I could not eat them fast enough. Now how could I turn regular apples into something I could convince myself I actually liked to eat? Add a little brown sugar and bake them in the oven that is! Are you trying to get your servings of fruits in too, but keep wasting it week after week?

IMG_1233x

Take this simple recipe to change your habits for 2013 and begin your healthier lifestyle. Even though this isn’t the typical “healthy” meal for most people, this is a huge step for my eating habits, and for that I am excited!

Ingredients

Apples: 6 mini gala apples

Brown Sugar: 2 tablespoons

Butter: 1 ½ teaspoons or ½ tablespoons

Water: ¾ cup

Cinnamon: 2 teaspoons

IMG_1234x

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and then grab your apples from the fridge or counter. You should first make sure you have washed them and then you will need to core your apples. My roommate has this handy dandy apple corer and slicer, but you can core your apples the old fashion way and then slice these into smaller pieces.

IMG_1236x

I used the apple corer and then decided to cut the slices in half again. I figured the thinner apples the better for when they bake in the oven.

IMG_1238x

Lay your apples in your glass casserole dish. Spread them out evenly in the dish and then take your brown sugar and sprinkle it over the apple slices. You can always add more brown sugar if you want more. Then cut up your stick butter into smaller pieces and space them out over the casserole dish. Lastly, sprinkle cinnamon over all of the apples and add enough water to cover the entire bottom of your dish. You will use this liquid later while you’re baking the apples.

IMG_1242

IMG_1241

Put the dish in the oven and every ten minutes pour the liquid over the apples. You will do this about three times, given that your apples get soft in 35 or so minutes. You can take them out of the oven whenever they are cooked enough for you.

IMG_1243

 Add a sprinkle of cinnamon and eat with frozen yogurt or fat free whipped cream.

IMG_1246

This simple snack or dessert doesn’t kill your diet and will help you to not waste those fruits you had such good intentions for when you bought them. We’ve always heard an apple a day keeps the doctor away, so why not make them taste good! Healthy eating can be fun!

I split up the dish into three servings, could probably even get four out of it! The nutritional facts are below per 1/3 dish serving. Not only do these taste good, but you feel good about yourself too.

nutrtional facts

5 thoughts on “An Apple A Day: Baked Cinnamon Apples

  1. Mmmm! You know, you could put these in flour tortillas, drizzle with a sugar glaze and bake them until tortillas are crisp! I’ve done that once and it tasted like a twist on apple pie! Amazing flavor!! 😀

Leave a Reply

