Parmesan Zucchini Pasta

Parmesan Zucchini Pasta

I am officially a zucchini connoisseur. So far, I have found my healthy outlet for this new year’s resolution in my zucchini twists on regular dishes and portion control. I have been working out every day too, so hopefully a combination of these keeps me motivated! If you don’t believe zucchini is the real deal, scroll down to the bottom and check out the calories this whole bowl has. That’s right, this entire dish I ate was only 55 calories!

Now for lunch, I still had two leftover zucchinis from my grocery store run last night, so I decided to make a zucchini pasta, which I have been tempted to make before. This is very simple for anyone to make and doesn’t call for many strange ingredients. Grab a zucchini per person you are serving, some butter, salt, parmesan cheese, and your favorite spices. This dish will definitely curb your carb cravings and I may just make this a staple in my weekly menu. Use this as your main meal or as a side for your dinner, vegetables can taste good!

Ingredients

Zucchini: 1 per person you are serving

Salt: 1/4 teaspoon

Butter: spray butter, approximately 5-8 sprays

Garlic and Herbs: 1 teaspoon

Parmesan Cheese: 1-2 teaspoons

IMG_0961

Take your vegetable peeler and peel your zucchini into strips. The strips came out a little larger than fettuccine noodles, which I didn’t mind. You are definitely more than welcome to cut these into thinner strips if you want more of a spaghetti look and taste. I stopped once I got to the seedy center, but again, if you don’t mind the taste and want to make a little more, you could peel the entire zucchini.IMG_0962Now while I got ready for the day, I put the zucchini strips into a colander and added a 1/4 teaspoon of salt over them. I got ready for about 30-45 minutes, which was long enough to get some of the extra water out of the zucchini.

IMG_0966

IMG_0969I then dried off the zucchini with a paper towel. I actually ended up needed about 5 paper towel sheets to get the excess moisture off. This will make for a much better noodle for your pasta, so it is definitely worth the extra time.

IMG_0973

Next, turn on your skillet and spray a cooking spray on the bottom. I then sauteed the noodles, a few sprays of the butter spray, and my herbs in the pan. The zucchini will not take very long to cook, so only about 2 minutes is plenty. I then tossed the pasta with the parmsesan cheese and topped it with a little basil leaves.
IMG_0975This pasta was absolutely fabulous and I will definitely be making this soon. I am still full and if you close your eyes you would think Olive Garden just came in your kitchen. The herbs were perfect and its still keeping me on my healthy track! Here’s to new and fun zucchini dishes! 🙂

IMG_0993

Update: I found a recipe calculator to track the caloric intake of the recipes that I am posting. I will continue to add this to help myself and also anyone reading to see if this recipe is worth it. For 55 calories, this pasta is definitely worth the prep time! The  Zucchini Pasta had the following nutritional facts:

Per Serving (what I made above is considered 1 serving)

Calories: 54.6

Total Fat: .9 g

Total Carbs: 10.7 g

Protein: 2.8 g

Vitamin A: 60.7%

Vitamin C: 20.7%

12 thoughts on “Parmesan Zucchini Pasta

  1. Oh, and a quick thought on your nutrition calculator. Thats a great tool! If it gives you fiber count, that might be worth noting. You can subtract the amount of fiber from the carb count to determine the amount of carbs you are actually digesting. I don’t know if you are paying attention to carbs or only calories, but for those who count carbs, fiber numbers are important.

  2. Pingback: Twice Baked Stuffed Zucchini | Miss Chris Creations

  3. Pingback: Chicken Parmesan with Zucchini Noodles | Miss Chris Creations

  4. Pingback: Yellow Squash Pasta | Once in a Blue Spoon

  5. Pingback: Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes | Miss Chris Creations

  6. Pingback: Skinny Chocolate Oat-Chip Cookies | Miss Chris Creations

Leave a Reply

