Baked Zucchini Fries

Baked Zucchini Fries

With the New Year among us, I am like many people, in that I made a resolution to eat better and exercise more in 2013. This long process begins with putting the cookie jar down and opening up the refrigerator for something healthy. My mom and I started eating healthier for dinner, but the routine broccoli and green beans sides can use a little spicing up. Hence, Christine decides to make another zucchini dish!

These zucchini fries are so simple to make and really add something different to your weekly menu. You can spice up this recipe and add your favorite seasoning as you get the hang of it!

Ingredients

Zucchini: 1 or 2 Large

Panko Bread Crumbs: 3/4 cup

Egg: 1 Egg White

(optional) Parmesan Cheese: 1/4 cup

IMG_0928

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees while you’re preparing your zucchini fries. Take one or two large zucchinis, about 1 lb, depending on how many servings you want. I started thinking I was going to use two, but only made one and it was plenty for my mom and I to eat with our yummy salmon!

IMG_0929

Cut off the ends of the zucchini, this makes for nicer looking fries!IMG_0930

Next, slice your zucchini in half to make it easier to work with.
IMG_0931

I then cut the halves in half both vertically and horizontally  You can feel free to cut your zucchini any way you wish, this just seemed to be the easiest way to cut the fries for me.IMG_0932

You will now have 4 manageable sections that you can slice again into 12 fries. The thinner the fries the less they will end up tasting like zucchini when you bake them.

IMG_0938

Now these zucchini strips are ready to be turned from a unappealing vegetable to actual fries!!IMG_0940

Going along with the healthy new year, I decided to use an egg white wash with a little bit of milk before the breading. The bread crumbs and parmesan cheese will get quite clumpy if you mix all of it together at once. I used a 1/4 cup of each at a time and then quickly mixed a new bowl of it when it started getting clumpy from the egg/white wash. Get out your cookie sheet and spray it with a non-stick spray and then you are ready to bread these zucchini strips!
IMG_0941You will then one by one dip one zucchini strip into the egg/milk mixture with one hand and then use the other hand to mix the bread crumbs/cheese mixture on the zucchini. I would definitely recommend keeping one hand for each bowl to reduce the amount of liquid entering your dry ingredient bowl.

IMG_0942

Sprinkle a little salt and pepper on them and they should be ready to go! Make sure all of the zucchini strips are not touching each other on the cookie sheet and place them in the middle of your oven for 15 minutes. After the first 15 minutes, flip them over, and place them back into the oven until golden brown, approximately 15 more minutes. You may need to use tongs or flip these individually to make sure you don’t scrap all of the breading off.IMG_0943

IMG_0944

After they are golden brown, take them out of the oven and you now have your very own zucchini fries. Even my mom and my brother were impressed how good a zucchini could taste! I gobbled these up before anyone could grab for seconds, so if you want to serve more than 2 or so people, I would definitely make a second zucchini worth. If you do this, remember to switch your cookie sheets from the top tray to the bottom when you flip your fries half way through, so they get even baking in your oven.

IMG_0947

Get out some marinara sauce, ketchup, or ranch dressing to dip these fries in and enjoy. After looking at my blog, I’m starting to think I have a new found love for zucchini, making this my third recipe so far! You should be seeing plenty more healthy recipes as I continue working on my new years resolution. Healthy eating doesn’t have to be a chore; whether you are eating popcorn or zucchini fries, eating should be fun!
IMG_0949Update (8/13/13): I now make these ALL the time and thought I should mention I peel the outside off of these fries now. Just a personal preference, but I LOVE them! Especially during the summer months when these fresh vegetables are all over your local market! Try something different and you’ll be surprised how awesome these taste!

10 thoughts on “Baked Zucchini Fries

  1. Pingback: Twice Baked Stuffed Zucchini | Miss Chris Creations

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Zucchini Cupcakes | Miss Chris Creations

  3. Pingback: Skinny Chocolate Oat-Chip Cookies | Miss Chris Creations

  4. Pingback: Zucchini Crust Pizza | Miss Chris Creations

  5. A person necessarily assist to make significantly posts I’d state.

    This is the very first time I frequented your web page and to this point?
    I amazed with the research you made to create this actual publish
    extraordinary. Fantastic task!

Leave a Reply

