Semi-Homemade Snickerdoodle Cookies

Hungry for some cookies, but don’t want to take the time to make them homemade? Don’t worry, run to your local supermarket and you should definitely be able to find the Betty Crocker Sugar Cookie bag. I didn’t just want sugar cookies though, I wanted to bring my boyfriend’s favorite, snickerdoodles, to him for a study break! I decided to alter the recipe slightly to make my very own, semi-homemade snickerdoodle cookies, which turned out just as I imagine Miss Crocker would make them! I can’t reiterate how quick and easy these were to make though, no mixer involved!

Ingredients

Betty Crocker Sugar Cookie Mix

Butter: 1 stick

Eggs: 1 or 1/3 cup egg whites in my case

Cinnamon: 1/8 cup

Sugar: 1/2 cup

IMG_0254

After looking at this picture, I now realize the loyalty I have to the Walmart brand aka a college girl’s budget!! 🙂

Directions

Go ahead and preheat your oven before you begin making your cookie dough! Then start by mixing your first three ingredients in a large bowl. You want to use softened butter, so if you grab a stick from the refrigerator, only microwave it for 15 or so seconds.

IMG_0256

Take your cinnamon and sugar and equally stir them together in a small/regular sized bowl. You can now section off your cookies into teaspoons or tablespoon amounts to add the cinnamon sugar mixture. I personally prefer teaspoons, so your cookies don’t get to large and messy when they come out of the oven. After you have your cookie balls you can roll them in the cinnamon sugar mixture or place them on your tray and then sprinkle the mixture over! I did both ways to see which one I liked better. I would say the dipping definitely adds a little more chunks to your mixture over the long run, so sprinkling over your cookie sheet will work just as well. Your cookies will stick perfectly to the cookie sheet, so if you are a messy sprinkler like me, just tilt your cookie sheet into the sink and the excess will run off!

IMG_0258

Bake these pretty cookies in your 350 degree heated oven for 7-10 minutes, depending on how golden brown you want them. Take them off of the cookie sheet to let them cool and vuala, you have semi-homemade snickerdoodle cookies without all of the extra work! …Or if you’re like me, eat them while they’re warm and falling apart, yum!

IMG_0259

IMG_0262

IMG_0266

I hope you guys love this simple recipe as much as I do! I will definitely be using this in the coming weeks for the holiday!

One thought on “Semi-Homemade Snickerdoodle Cookies

  1. Pingback: Rainbow Swirl Cookies | Miss Chris Creations

Leave a Reply

